Home      Haj 2014      Pilgrim Information        Pay In Slip Download      About Us       Contact Us   IAS Coaching     FAQs     

Haj is one of the five tenets of Islam. It's every muslim's desire to perform Haj at least once in his life time. Performing Haj is obligatory to every sane, financially able and adult muslim.

HAJ - 2014 Related Downloads

Untitled Document




What is the meaning of the term “Provisionally selected”?

Provisionally selected means SELECTED IN QURRAH (Draw of Lots) for time being subject to other conditions.

What is the meaning of the term “Rejected”.

Rejected means NOT SELECTED IN QURRAH.  This term is also used for the non- selection of REPEATER Haj Applicants.

What is the meaning of the term “Waiting List”?

A Separate draw of lots of non selected  covers will be held to allocate waiting list number to all such covers.

How and when do the Waiting List Applications get the Provisionally Selected status?


Haj Committee of India / State Haj Committee receive few requests for CANCELLATION from the Provisionally Selected Pilgrims. In addition to this, the Government may increase the Haj Quota by allotting some additional Haj Seats. These vacant seats are filled up by provisionally selecting the Waiting List Applications. Waiting List applications are provisionally selected strictly according to their serial order in the Waiting List.

When does a Provisionally Selected Pilgrim get the CONFIRMED Status?

The provisionally selected pilgrim, after the submission of his / her valid International Passport alongwith the remittance receipt for the amount @ Rs.76,000/- per head within the prescribed last date would be granted Confirmed Statusafter scrutiny by HCOI.

What is Reserved “A” Category?

Reserved “A” Category covers applications of 70+ Pilgrims (as on 31st January, 2013 - for Haj – 2013) along with one companion

What is Reserved “B” Category?

Persons whose applications have been rejected continuously for last three years or could not proceed for Haj during Haj 2010, Haj 2011 & Haj 2012 will be registered under this Category.

Who can apply under Reserved Quota?

The following are eligible to apply under the Reserved Quotaprovided they have not performed Haj earlier either through HCOI/PTO or by any other means :-

  1. Haj Applicants above the age group of 70 years (as on 31.01.2013).
  2. Haj Applicants who have continuously applied for Haj for the last three years (i.e 2010,2011&2012)and were not selected  in the Qurrah.

Can a person applying under the Reserved Category be directly given the Provisionally Selected status.

No. Because Qurrah would be conducted in case the  number of Haj Applications received under the Reserved Category exceeds the number of Haj Seats allotted to a particular State / U.T.

What is Government Quota?

Out of the total quota of the Haj Committee of India, certain seats are earmarked under Government Reserved Quota by the Government of India.

What is the difference between General Category and Government Quota?

The quota allotted to the State / Union Territories Haj Committees for the selection of the pilgrims of their state through Qurrah is called the General Category and the Haj seats released by the Ministry of External Affairs is called Government Quota.

What special facilities are available in the Government Quota?

The facilities in the General Category and the Government Quota are the same. No special facilities are available in Government Quota.

Return to English FAQ